Auckland in autumn

Posted on May 3, 2016 by



This post is guest-written by second-year LEL student Molly Joslin.

IMG_6470

Sand-boarding on the dunes near Cape Reinga

So mid-semester exams are over and done with, and I have had a sudden realisation that we are half way through the semester already. Summer’s gone and Auckland has become autumnal. After the first couple of weeks wandering around campus, I can confidently say that I am a fully-fledged UoA student. I know all about $5 vegan lunches on Wednesdays, where’s best to find a quiet computer space and when the happy hour is on at Shadows. The workload is similar to that back home, and for the most part I am enjoying my classes. Although, I have had to get used to the embarrassment of mispronouncing Polynesian words in my Poly linguistics module, but hey, it’s all part of the experience!

IMG_6485

Tāne Mahuta

My highlight of the past few weeks has to be Easter weekend. We hired a car and went camping to Northland, which is the peninsula a few hours drive north of the city. A bonus of being in the tramping society means that you have access to all the camping equipment for free so there is no excuse to get away! Visiting first the Bay of Islands, which encompasses 140 sub-tropical islands, was magical. We took a cruise to Urupukapuka Island, and spent the day exploring and swimming its picturesque beaches. We drove right to the top of the peninsula, to Cape Reinga, and back south down the west coast, finally stopping off to see the Tāne Mahuta; New Zealand’s largest kauri tree. Back in Auckland, and to celebrate my birthday we took a visit to Waiheke Island, otherwise known as ‘The Island of Wine’. What’s not to love! We spent the day sampling the produce from a few different wineries and watched a beautiful sunset over the city as we arrived back into Auckland. All in all, it was an amazing Easter break!

I have just returned from Australia, where I spent my mid-semester break (an added bonus for the exchange for me is that I am actually closer to my family over here!) and back in Auckland ready to face the second half of the semester. For now, here are some photos from my trip over Easter ☺

IMG_5600

The Auckland skyline

Cheers!
Molly

Featured image: Urupukapuka Island. All photos by Molly.

