Paderborn and beyond

Posted on August 5, 2016 by



This post is guest-written by second-year LEL student Joss Hordern, and is the second and final in a series.

Münster Cathedral

Joss in front of Münster Cathedral.

It’s hard to believe that my time here is already drawing to a close. Over the past few months, Paderborn has become my home, and I think it will be quite strange re-adjusting to life in England.

I didn’t really know what to expect when coming here. I thought that life would be quite calm since the city is so small – that was before I saw how exchange students party! But honestly it has been such an amazing experience. I don’t feel like I will be the same person coming home as I was when I came here. I have proven to myself that I can live in another country. That I can be independent and spontaneous. Even that, though my language skills still have much to be desired, I can get around with the German that I know, and even have some full conversations in German.

Schloss Neuschwanstein

Schloss Neuschwanstein, Bavaria.

I’ve seen several of Germany’s beautiful cities, and would like to see more with my semester transport ticket now that my exams are over. I think Munich is my favourite. There’s nothing like being in Bavaria to really make you feel like you are in Germany! I also have a couple of other plans lined up for the remainder of my time here (the main event being the Parklichter Festival where my favourite German artist Alligatoah is playing!).

There are things I will be glad to see again when I get home. I’m definitely looking forward to being reunited with my cats again! But I will never forget this experience, and I am eternally grateful to everyone, both in Germany and back home, who made it possible, gave me support or simply made my time here so fun!

See you soon, Manchester!

Liebe Grüße,

Joss Hordern

Featured image: Paderborn city. All photos by Joss.

Behind the Cathedral

Behind the cathedral.

